MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

Girardi: Should have challenged six-inning call

(Photo by Frank Jansky/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

(TSX / STATS) -- New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi admitted on Saturday that he "screwed up" by not challenging a pivotal and controversial call in Friday's Game 2 of the American League Division Series against the Cleveland Indians.

With the Yankees leading 8-3, the initial ruling was that Indians outfielder Lonnie Chisenhall was hit by a pitch with two outs in the bottom of the sixth inning. That loaded the bases, and Francisco Lindor followed by hitting a grand slam that closed the gap to 8-7. The Indians eventually won 9-8 in 13 innings to take a 2-0 lead in the best-of-five series.

However, replays indicated the ball hit the knob of Chisenhall's bat on the 0-2 pitch and did not hit Chisenhall. Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez caught the pitch that was ruled to have hit Chisenhall, so it should have been ruled strike three, which would have ended the inning.

After the game, Girardi said he didn't have time to check a replay, but he changed his answer Saturday.

"I screwed up," Girardi said in a news conference Saturday. "It's hard. It's a hard day for me. But I've got to move forward, and we'll be ready to go tomorrow."

"I take responsibility for everything, and I feel horrible about it."

Sanchez looked toward the dugout following the controversial pitch, suggesting he thought Girardi should challenge. After the game, Sanchez told the New York Dailey News that he heard something as the ball crossed the plate. He said he was not sure whether the ball hit the bat, but he was certain it did not hit Chisenhall.

Updated October 7, 2017

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.